It has been a year since WHO announced the global pandemic but even with medical breakthroughs and vaccine rollouts, COVID-19 cases continue to grow. And with the third wave in this pandemic, safety protocols, and travel restrictions are being changed almost daily. To help you stay informed, here are the latest travel advisories in popular European destinations.


alt text

Austria is currently in lockdown, which means hotels for leisure or tourism are closed, bars and restaurants only allow takeout or delivery services, lifestyle facilities (fitness gyms, theatres, cinemas, and public pools) are closed, and there is also a curfew from 8 pm to 6 am. However, some public areas are open, such as shops, museums, libraries, zoos, parks, and ski areas, as long as visitors wear FFP2 masks.

There is also a landing ban for flights coming from South Africa and Brazil.

Read here to know more.


Denmark requires all travelers entering the country to present a negative Covid test before boarding a flight, take a rapid test upon arrival, and undergo 10 days of quarantine. Quarantine may be broken after a traveler obtains a negative PCR test taken after the fourth day of entry.

Read here to know more.


All travels outside the EU or Schengen are currently restricted in France, and EU/Schengen travelers must present a negative RT-PCR test taken within 72 hours. However, 16 regions in France including Paris are currently in lockdown. There is also a curfew from 7 pm to 6 am.


Travelers from the EU/Schengen areas and countries with low infection rates (Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Thailand) are only allowed to enter Germany.

Read here to know more.


alt text

Travelers entering Greece, whether arriving from a third country or from a European Union Member State, must quarantine for seven (7) days, as a precaution, at home or at their traveling address stated in the PLF form. In case the test result is positive, travelers will be quarantined for 14 days.

Read here to know more.


Italy is in lockdown and only allows entry for essential travels from countries in the EU/Schengen areas and select safe countries. However, a 14-day quarantine is still mandatory aside from presenting a negative PCR test result taken within 48 hours.


Only residents from EU/Schengen and select “EU-wide safe countries” are allowed entry to the Netherlands. All travelers must present a negative PCR test result taken within 72 hours and fill out a travel declaration form. There is also a curfew from 9:30 pm to 4:30 am.


Norway’s borders are closed except for returning Norwegian citizens and legal residents. All non-essential shops and establishments are closed, while restaurants can only offer takeout and delivery.


alt text

Travelers from EU/Schengen areas and EU-safe countries are allowed to enter Spain with a negative PCR test result. Arrivals from the UK, Brazil, and South Africa, except for returning Spanish nationals, are currently banned.


The Swiss government issued a list of high-risk countries and travelers from these countries are required to quarantine for 14 days and present a negative PCR test result.

Read here to know more.

United Kingdom

The UK is still in lockdown until May 17. However, essential travelers from select countries may enter Brittain by presenting a negative PCR test result taken within 72 hours.

Read here to know more.