Being one of the first countries to revive their travel industry after the global lockdown, the US seems to be ramping up its tourism efforts to help revive local businesses across the country. But domestic and international travelers must also be aware that travel rules and there are some protocols and

1. New York



  • Travelers coming from states or countries with a high rate of coronavirus infections must quarantine for 2 weeks upon arrival.

  • Travelers will also need to fill out a health declaration form at either the airport or have the form filled out at their hotel.

What is allowed:

  • Indoor dining is allowed at 25% capacity, outdoor seating is also permitted with physical distancing.

  • A few museums and galleries in New York are now open but require visitors to wear masks.

2. California



  • California currently does not require travelers arriving to quarantine. However, they are encouraged to quarantine for 14 days if they will be interacting with persons considered “at-risk”.

  • California Gov. Gavin Newsom closed dine-in restaurants back in July along with wineries and tasting rooms, museums, and entertainment venues.

What is allowed:

  • Malls, shops, and grocery stores are open in California but require shoppers to wear masks to enter these establishments.

  • Gyms are also open but only at 25% capacity.

3. Florida



  • Florida does not require travelers arriving to quarantine.

What is allowed:

  • Florida reopened its beaches across the state, imposing restrictions on group size and requiring face masks.

  • Florida Gov. Rob DeSantis reopened hotels, restaurants, and bars at full capacity regardless of local rules.

  • Additionally, museums, galleries, and theme parks have been allowed to reopen, but some opted for reduced hours at limited entries, including Disney World.

4. Hawaii



  • A mandatory 2-week quarantine rule implemented for all travelers, regardless of origin.

  • However, if a traveler is able to show proof of a negative COVID-19 test taken prior to arrival, the quarantine rule may be bypassed.

What is allowed:

  • The state has reopened several establishments on certain islands with minimal capacity.

  • Major beaches are open to the public again, given that visitors will observe physical distancing.

  • Honolulu allowed bars, fitness gyms, and indoor entertainment venues to reopen

5. Nevada



  • Nevadans and visitors are encouraged to log their daily activities for contact tracing purposes using the COVID Trace app.

What is allowed:

  • Casinos have reopened back in June, however, guests must wear face masks at all times.

  • Other indoor entertainment venues, such as theatres, are also allowed to operate.

  • Bars, restaurants, and resorts are allowed to operate in 50% capacity.

6. Texas



  • Texas does not require travelers arriving to quarantine.

  • Texas advises residents to minimize social gatherings and minimize in-person contact with people who are not in the same household.

What is allowed:

  • Texas has allowed the reopening of almost all types of establishments, services, and institutions across the state, including church gatherings and recreational sports.

7. Guam



  • Visitors are required to undergo PCR swab testing before their arrival.

  • If you test positive for COVID-19 upon arrival, you are required to isolate for 14 days or more and shall be monitored by local authorities.

What is allowed:

  • Restaurants, hotels, and other establishments are operating at a minimal capacity.

8. Illinois



  • Travelers from some states and countries with high cases of COVID-19 are required to quarantine upon arrival at any Illinois city.

What is allowed:

  • Restaurants, hotels, and other establishments are operating at a minimal capacity.

  • Museums and galleries are also open but with limited visiting capacity and shortened opening hours.

9. Massachusetts



  • Visitors arriving are required to show a negative COVID-19 test result or agree to self-quarantine for 14 days.

  • Exemptions apply to lower-risk countries and US states including New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Hawaii.

What is allowed:

  • Restaurants, hotels, and other establishments are operating at a minimal capacity.

  • Fitness gyms, spas, and salons are allowed to operate at 40% capacity.

  • Intimate gatherings are allowed for a maximum of 10 persons.

10. Pennsylvania



  • Travelers arriving from high-risk states and countries are required to quarantine upon arrival in Pennsylvania.

  • Wearing face masks is mandatory when leaving the home or a hotel room.

What is allowed:

  • Bars and restaurants are allowed to operate at a 50% capacity. Malls, theatres, museums, and casinos are also currently operating at 50% capacity.

For more travel updates like this, make sure to regularly check the Viyahe app on your mobile device. You may also get further information per US state by simply dropping an inquiry via chat to your Viyahe travel assistant. Stay safe, Viyahero!